Image default

Bittrex Blocks Users from Crimea, Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria


Two can play this game.

It is not just countries that are tightening their ropes when it comes to cryptocurrency trading, but the tides can be turned just as easily.

This was something which Bittrex showed in a move that was defined in its updated terms of service, which had been rolled out last month and will go into effect from Friday, March 9, 2018.

According to the updated terms of service, anyone who is “located in, or a citizen or resident of any state, country, territory or other jurisdiction that is embargoed by the United States” will not be able to use Bittrex’s service.

As per recent sanctions that have been imposed by the U.S. government on other nations, notable countries that fall under this certain distinction for embargo include Crimea, Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria.

With Bittrex imposing these new terms of service, residents from these countries will not be able to use the exchange once these new terms go into effect later this week.

It had been reported earlier by local cryptocurrency community members in Iran that Bittrex disabled and suspended cryptocurrency accounts that were held by residents of Iran. They had further alleged that the exchange had not responded to any inquiries made in this regard.




Related posts

Blockchain Payment System That Benefits Both Developers and Users in Apps Marketplace

CP Team

Cryptocurrency Trading To be Launched By Soros Fund Management

CP Team

Group of Students jailed for selling drugs in exchange of Bitcoins.

CP Team

Leave a Comment